64bit fsi (FSharp Interactive) already available !!!

The good news for all F#/SharePoint lovers! As I learned today, 64 bit version of fsi already available as a part of F# 3.0. It is FsiAnyCPU.exe (at C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\F#\3.0\Framework\v4.0).

These mean that now we should be able to connect to the SharePoint directly from fsi. It’s really cool !!!

As I see, into vs2012 we can choose version of fsi from Tools->Options.

P.S. Great thanks to the Mauricio Scheffer for great news.

4 thoughts on “64bit fsi (FSharp Interactive) already available !!!

  1. Thanks for this article as it has got me one step closer to what I would like to do. I would really like to use F# for exploratory programming in SharePoint but I cannot get it off the ground.

    I seem to have F# version 3.1.

    When I try to obtain an SPSite object, I get the error
    System.PlatformNotSupportedException: Microsoft SharePoint is not supported with version 4.0.30319.18444 of the Microsoft .Net Runtime.

    The location of the EXE I’m using is
    c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\F#\3.1\Framework\v4.0\FsiAnyCPU.exe

    Am I doing something stupid?

    1. It should work with SharePoint 2013, but SharePoint 2010 does not allow connections from .NET 4.0+ runtime, so you cannot use latest version of FSI =(.

      When I have tried to use F# for SP I ended up with F# console app and compilation to .NET 3.5. It allow you to use latest version of F#, but without FSI.

      If you want to use FSI… I think that you need to install F# version built-in VS2010, i guess it F# 2.0. I hope that packed FSI is running under .NET 2.0 https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=13450

      1. Sergey – many thanks. I am on 2010 and do have VS 2010 installed also. When I get into work tomorrow I will install that version of FSI if it is not already on my machine. I did find 2 FSI.exe though not a second FSIAnyCPU.exe.

Leave a comment